KAL-ling the Flatlands

It has been 4 days since the Manitoba Fibre Festival Flatlands Collection was launched on Ravelry. If you haven’t snagged a pattern (or more) yet, quick – the discount ends soon on August 6 (end of day, CST)

I’ve cast on for an Aura shawl, designed by Susie of Knit Natural. I like the bright colours she used, but I wanted to CO ASAP, so I went stash-diving.  I didn’t have to look far to find the skein of Merino-Yak-Nylon fingering I snagged at the Blue Hills fibre fest this spring. Tammy of Manjusha Farm prepared the most glorious rich colours that I’ve been aching to knit.

IMG_20170803_143901

For my other two colours, I’m imagining a skein of the 2017 Manitoba Fibre Festival colourway dyed by Cloud 9 Fiberworks. It will be available at the Festival, but there are also some early opportunities to buy a skein (in worsted or fingering weight), including next week at the Wolseley Market. (Details at the bottom of the colourway blog post linked above.)

IMG_20170802_123904

I don’t have the yarn on hand yet, so I was using the logo while imagining the colours together. I believe the MFF colourway will provide a lovely middle contrast with my dark yarn. To add to that, I have some handspun singles (dyed by WildWind Naturals) that will provide a lighter contrast. I finished spinning the last bit of fibre today, despite the best efforts of the new kitten.

IMG_20170804_090649

After that, I’m not sure what I will CO, but I’m leaning towards CoCo’s path as a winter gift. It looks wonderfully squishy.

One thought on “KAL-ling the Flatlands

Leave a Reply

